UW-Manitowoc’s Wright Receives Kaplan Honor


Mona Wright, associate lecturer of English/developmental education at the University of Wisconsin-Manitowoc, was recently recognized with the Arthur M. Kaplan Award for her exceptional contributions to the campus. She has been teaching at the campus since 2010.

Wright was honored for her instrumental role in developing and teaching students who participate in the Fresh Start program which provides support for under-prepared students. Students in the program participate in a cohort and receive additional advising and support services. Students in the program have been succeeding at a high rate.

Wright was also commended for her enthusiastic, tireless support of UW-Manitowoc campus events. She informs students and encourages them to become involved in a wide variety of campus events, including arts performances, athletic events, the academic success series, lectures, and more. Her efforts help students become engaged members of the campus community.

The Kaplan Award is given annually to faculty or staff members nominated by their campuses to the Chancellor of the University of Wisconsin Colleges. The award was established to recognize faculty and academic staff who have made significant innovative improvements in instruction or in service to students. It recognizes the positive spirit in which Vice Chancellor and Provost Emeritus Arthur M. Kaplan contributed to the enhancement of education in the UW Colleges during his tenure. The UW-Manitowoc Foundation, Inc. matches the award allocated by the UW Colleges.


Teresa Satori