UW-Manitowoc’s Hein and Abler Share Kaplan Honor


Richard Hein and Rebecca Abler, associate professors of biological sciences at the University of Wisconsin-Manitowoc, were both recently recognized with the Arthur M. Kaplan Award for their exceptional contributions to the campus.

They were honored for their collaborative work with the National Science Foundation (NSF) Portals of Discovery Grant, their creek and beach sampling projects, and various student research initiatives. It was noted in their nomination letter that Abler and Hein “consistently look for and find ways in which their students can work with them as colleagues, thereby gaining applied research experience that is second to none in the UW System.”

“Professors Abler and Hein personify team work, which is so essential at our two-year campuses in the UW System,” says Charles Clark, UW-Manitowoc Campus Executive Officer/Dean. “The grants and partnerships Professors Abler and Hein jointly developed and the ways they integrate students into research have helped shape our campus identity.  Their work with students and non-profit organizations in Manitowoc County promotes the Wisconsin Idea of bringing the university into the community.”

The Kaplan Award is given annually to faculty or staff members nominated by their campuses to the Chancellor of the University of Wisconsin Colleges.  The award was established to recognize faculty and academic staff who have made significant innovative improvements in instruction or in service to students.  It recognizes the positive spirit in which Vice Chancellor and Provost Emeritus Arthur M. Kaplan contributed to the enhancement of education in the UW Colleges during his tenure.  The UW-Manitowoc Foundation, Inc. matches the award allocated by the UW Colleges.




Teresa Satori