UW-Manitowoc Students Inducted into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society


Thirty-five University of Wisconsin-Manitowoc students were inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society on Tuesday, March 12, 2013.  Officers conducted the ceremony following a speech by Brian Murphy, associate professor of mathematics.

Phi Theta Kappa is the only internationally acclaimed honor society serving two-year colleges offering associate degree programs.  Membership is extended by invitation only, and to be considered for membership, a student must pass stringent academic requirements, be of good moral character and possess recognized qualities of citizenship.  In return, the students become members of an elite society that is known world-wide for its scholarship.

Phi Theta Kappa provides members with opportunities for leadership, fellowship and service as well as an intellectual climate for continued academic excellence.  Local members are involved in fund-raising efforts for scholarships, highway cleanup and aid to local charities.

The society began in 1918 and now has more than 850 chapters in the United States and abroad.  UW-Manitowoc was chartered as the Alpha Sigma Lambda chapter of Phi Theta Kappa in December of 1990.  Academic excellence is the primary hallmark of Phi Theta Kappa. 


Teresa Satori