Prof. Kabrhel named Kaplan Award Recipient

Award recognizes outstanding contributions to students
By UW-Manitowoc

Amy KabrhelThis award recognizes individuals for significant and innovative improvement in instruction and/or service to students. Recipients receive a $250 grant from the university which is matched by an award from the UW-Manitowoc Foundation. The award honors Arthur M. Kaplan, who retired in 1993 as vice chancellor of the UW Colleges.

Dr. Amy Kabrhel received the award in recognition of her numerous contributions to the campus and the community: organizing the annual Cool Chemistry event, serving as the founding director of the UW-Manitowoc Honors Program and offering the opportunity for students to present their research at the annual Posters/Research in the Rotunda event at the Wisconsin State Capitol.

“Cool Chemistry brings hundreds of community members to campus to watch demonstrations prepared and conducted by our students,” said Martin Rudd, UW Colleges regional executive officer and dean. “Dr. Kabrhel engages her students by showing the real-world applications of chemistry concepts and is very generous with her time in and outside of the classroom.”


Laurie Krasin