Dr. Lybbert named Kaplan Award recipient

Award recognizes outstanding contributions to students
By UW-Manitowoc

Dr. Breeyawn Lybbert, chemistry professor, has been named the 2017-18 Kaplan Award recipient at UW-Manitowoc.Breeyawn L.

This award recognizes individuals for significant and innovative improvement in instruction and/or service to students. Recipients receive a $250 grant from the university which is matched by the UW-Manitowoc Foundation. The award honors Arthur M. Kaplan, who retired in 1993 as vice chancellor of the UW Colleges.

Lybbert is recognized for her innovation in creating science-writing assignments using Calibrated Peer Review (CPR) software. This allows students to review each other’s work with the goal of improving their own writing in the process. She supports the success of nursing students at UW-Manitowoc by developing relationships with area nursing schools and advising the Future Nurses Club on campus.

“Dr. Lybbert demonstrates her passion for ensuring student success both in and beyond the classroom,” said Dr. Martin Rudd, UW Colleges regional executive officer and dean. “She is an outstanding advisor to students majoring in nursing, keeping them informed of all current requirements for transfer and supporting their career goals.”


Laurie Krasin