Lakeshore Wind Ensemble Association

The Lakeshore Wind Ensemble Association was formed in 1987 to promote, nurture, and support the LWE. The association undertook active roles in publicity and fund-raising. It successfully organized the first season ticket campaign for the 1988-89 concert season. And with each succeeding season, the number of season tickets sold has increased to a current level of over 800 concert subscriptions.

The association conducts a fund-raising drive annually, and donors' names are listed in the wind ensemble programs for the entire concert season. Donors in the $100 category or above receive vouchers for free admission to Lakeshore Big Band concerts or the wind ensemble Friday “Festival of Christmas” or “Biggest of the Big Band” concerts.

The LWEA has also sponsored fund-raising concerts for the LWEA, including the Allen and Marie Bonde concert in 1989, and the John Salerno concert in 1990. In 1992, the first pops concert, presented by the Lakeshore Wind Ensemble and sponsored by the LWRA, was presented at the Holiday Inn in Manitowoc. The popularity of the concert resulted in moving it to a larger venue, the multi-purpose room at UW-Manitowoc. The concert’s audience continued to increase, causing the concert to be performed at its present location, the Capitol Civic Centre, where it is presented on two consecutive evenings in January.

The association enhances the wind ensemble, including funding guest soloists, assisting the university with instrument purchases, and special programmatic and concert needs. Special touches, such as the red bow ties worn at the Christmas concerts, the floral arrangements at the front of the stage for each concert, and the programs patrons receive at each concert, are all provided by the association.

The association financially supports the Beatrice and Matthew Arendt Talentship program, which is administered by the UW-Manitowoc Foundation, Inc. This program was established in 1988 to recognize and encourage musically talented UW-Manitowoc students. Recipients of the monetary awards are chosen on the basis of auditions and academic achievement.

The LWEA also sponsors an annual Young Artist Competition. The competition, held in November on the UW-Manitowoc campus in University Theatre, has two divisions, one for high school students, and one for college undergraduate students up to 25 years of age. The competition is open to any wind ensemble woodwind or brass instrument, mallet percussion, and piano. The entrants perform a solo work before three respected music professionals. The winner of each division performs with the wind ensemble on its March concert at the Capitol Civic Centre, as well as receiving a scholarship check. The competition is advertised through the Wisconsin School Musician magazine, and brochures are mailed in September to high schools, colleges, and universities throughout the state. Past entrants have included students attending school throughout Wisconsin, from Eau Claire to Racine, from Madison to Superior, Marinette to Milwaukee, and points in between. Many of past winners of the competition are now music professionals, in education and/or performance.

In 1999, the Lakeshore Wind Ensemble Association established the Wesley Teply Community Service Award in the Arts. The award, presented at the March concert, serves to recognize people who substantially contribute to the arts in the greater Manitowoc area. The first award was presented to Wesley Teply. Other recipients include Sister Cecilia Byrns, Conrad Daellenbach, Karl Miller, Jean Wolfmeyer, Jim and Susie Miller, Kathie Bundy, Sr. Lorna Zemke, Glenn Nelson, Paul and Barbara Stitt, Ron Stokes, David Bourgeois and Ron Kaminski.


We gratefully acknowledge all contributions to the LWEA.  Contributions received after the publication of each concert program will be listed in future concert programs. Interested individuals or corporations may call 920-683-4688 or write Lakeshore Wind Ensemble Association, Inc. c/o UW-Manitowoc, 705 Viebahn Street, Manitowoc, WI 54220-6699.  All donations are tax deductible to the extent provided by law.

Giving Levels

Vivace Society, $1000
Allegro Society, $500
Sousa Circle, $250
Encore Society, $100
Maestro Society, $50
LWE Friend, $20

LWEA, Inc. Officers

Board of Directors

Michael Pappathopoulos - President
Brian Van Ells - Vice President
Cathy Gardner - Secretary
Nancy Leigh - Treasurer
Richard Luchsinger - Member at Large
Kathleen Galas, Chair, Ensemble Committee/Community Liaison

Charles Clark, UW-Manitowoc Campus Dean/CEO, Ex-Officio
Sandy Sickinger, LWE Administrator, Ex-Officio

Ensemble Committee

Kathleen Galas (Chair)
Gary Wardahll
David Scherer
Dennis Kosloski
Michael Pappathopoulos

Corporation Counsel

Attorney Daniel Glaeser

Conductor/Music Director Ex-Officio


Fundraising/Subscription Campaign Coordinator
LWE Administrator Ex Officio

Sandy Sickinger

Young Artist Competition Coordinator

Sandy Sickinger

LWEA Historian

Lucy Zeldenrust

Endowment Committee

Roland Baldwin
Nancy Leigh
Marilyn Sontag
Dan Glaeser, Legal Counsel & Advisor (Ex-Officio)

Web Coordinators

Heidi Dalberg
Teresa Satori
Sandy Sickinger